| Item | Content |
|---|---|
| Rating | Neutral (Maintained) |
| Target Price | RMB 32-37 (base-case fair value, midpoint approx. RMB 34.5) |
| Current Price | RMB 33.58 (closing price as of 2026-08-31) |
| Margin of Safety | -4.7% (base-case fair value lower bound of RMB 32 vs. current price) |
| Time Horizon | 12-18 months |
| Previous Conclusion | Neutral / 0.62 / Target price RMB 26-30 / Fair to slightly expensive (2026-06-08, price RMB 31.38) |
| Dimension | Previous (2026-06-08) | Current (2026-09-01) | Drivers of Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| stance | Neutral | Neutral (maintained) | Maintained: valuation still in fair range, odds neutral; sideways phosphate rock prices and mine delays offset each other |
| confidence | 0.62 | 0.60 | All three mines under construction delayed + weakening earnings quality; slightly reduced conviction in direction |
| Target price range | RMB 26-30 | RMB 32-37 | Phosphate rock prices holding sideways above RMB 1,000/ton beyond prior expectations, sulfur price retreat in August, phosphate fertilizer export resumption in September, H1 earnings resilience; mine delays push down 2027 incremental volume, partially offsetting the upward revision |
| judgment | Fair to slightly expensive | Fair | Current price essentially equals resource NAV (approx. RMB 33/share); growth fully priced in |
Chuanheng Co. is a leading private "mine-chemical integration" player in phosphorus chemicals: phosphate mining and beneficiation gross margin of 83% (2026H1), ROE of 15%-19% for four consecutive years, dividend yield of 5.4% — quality superior to peers. However, the current price of RMB 33.58 (2026-08-31 close) already matches the resource NAV (approx. RMB 33/share) computed at mid-cycle rock prices, meaning the market is paying fully for the 7.3 million ton forward capacity narrative; the full delay of all three mines under construction makes 2027 a vacuum year for consolidated mining volume growth, while sell-side consensus has not yet been revised down. Probability-weighted fair value is approx. RMB 32.6, -3.1% vs. current price — no margin of safety. Maintain Neutral; wait for phosphate price/export data validation or a pullback below RMB 32 before reassessing allocation value.
Upcoming catalysts (bulls and bears intertwined, bears slightly favored): Negative — Jigongling delayed to end-2029, Laozhai delayed to end-2028 (fund-raised project investment progress only 11.88%), associate-owned Laohudong delayed to end-2028; 2027 consolidated mining incremental volume limited to Xiaoba technical upgrade's net addition of 300,000 tons/year; OCF/net profit attributable to parent showing a declining trend, long-term borrowings +124% vs. start of year. Positive — Phosphate rock price stable at a high level of RMB 1,000/ton (showing narrow-range softening signs in August), sulfur retreating from the June high of RMB 8,033/ton, phosphate fertilizer exports resuming normal declaration from September 1, 2026, Xiaoba technical upgrade auxiliary facilities completion brought forward to end-2026 vs. original plan.
Primary stock price driver: Phosphate rock price (30% grade; upside elasticity confirmed above RMB 1,050/ton, break below RMB 850/ton triggers bear case and impairment concerns) > pace of phosphate fertilizer export recovery (Q4 monthly customs data) > magnitude of sulfur cost retreat.
Verifiable expectation gap: Sell-side consensus 2026E net profit attributable to parent of RMB 1.533 billion (+15.5%) requires 2026H2 growth of +34.4% YoY (H1 actual only +4.5%), and sell-sides have revised down only -1.6% over the past 90 days, with 2027E still assuming +17.4% growth — the market has not yet adjusted models for mine delays to 2028-2029, and the consensus downgrade cycle may have just begun; however, the current price already trades at a 29% discount to the sell-side target price median of RMB 47.3, meaning the market itself has discounted consensus. Expectation gap status: exists in both directions, net direction tilted toward downward revisions.
Verification catalysts and falsification conditions: See "Overall Conclusion and Tracking" at end of document.
Phosphate mining and beneficiation gross margin of 83.03% (2026H1), 81.10% (2025); self-supplied rock cost advantage supports chemicals segment gross margin (30.26% in 2025) significantly above pure phosphate/DAP-NPK peers (Yuntian Holding 11.84%); consolidated forward phosphate rock capacity of 7.3 million tons/year (approx. 6 million tons on attributable-to-parent equity basis: Fulin Mining 90%, Qianyuan Geological Survey 58.5%), vs. current actual output of approx. 3.34 million tons (2025).
Key Evidence
Three caliber caveats to note: ① The 7.3 million tons figure is on a consolidated basis; attributable-to-parent equity basis is approx. 6 million tons, of which 4.3 million tons (Jigongling + Laozhai) will not be completed until end-2028/2029; ② "P2O5 self-sufficiency rate of approx. 65%" is a back-calculated estimate based on purchased phosphate concentrate at 23.20% of procurement and purchased phosphate rock at 9.61%; the company has not directly disclosed this; ③ external rock sales revenue accounts for only 5.4% of revenue (2026H1); the moat manifests mainly through self-use cost savings rather than external sales profit. Additionally, 2025 output of 3.34 million tons exceeds the licensed in-production capacity caliber (Xiaoba 800,000 + Xinqiao 2.2 million, approx. 3 million tons), possibly including engineering ore and approved capacity increases; regulatory caliber needs tracking.
Jigongling (2.5 million tons) delayed to end-2029 (originally end-2027; the fissure-resource integration mining rights agreement transfer still requires approval), Laozhai (1.8 million tons) delayed to end-2028 (fund-raised project investment progress only 11.88%), 49%-owned associate Laohudong delayed to end-2028. 2027 consolidated mining incremental volume is limited to the Xiaoba technical upgrade's net addition of 300,000 tons/year, with major mine additions shifted as a whole to 2028-2029; Laozhai/Tianyi Mining carry impairment risk (flagged by the company itself in the interim report). The nature of the delays should be distinguished: Jigongling is an active rescheduling of "trading timeline for resource volume," while Laozhai is a passive delay due to expired safety/environmental assessments, land acquisition and demolition complexities, and hydrogeology — the latter is the true signal of execution capability.
Key Evidence
OCF/net profit attributable to parent: 0.90 (2024) → 0.51 (2025); 2026H1 at 0.29 (YoY, turned positive from -RMB 147 million in 2025H1 to +RMB 164 million; the half-year ratio is distorted by stocking and settlement timing, but the annual trend is still downward; the company attributes this to large bill settlements simultaneously depressing operating inflows and investing outflows); 2026H1 FCF negative (-RMB 80 million), net debt RMB 1.66 billion (approx. RMB 2.7 per share), long-term borrowings +123.7% vs. start of year; 2025 dividend + buyback combined payout of 86.5%. External exposure is concentrated in a RMB 1.274 billion joint and several guarantee for associate Tianyi Mining's RMB 2.6 billion syndicated loan (approx. 17% of net assets); controlling shareholder Chuanheng Group has committed to cash compensation for actual losses — a mitigation structure for tail risk exists, but with the Group's own pledge ratio at 32.2%, its compensation capacity is questionable.
Key Evidence
30%-grade phosphate rock at approx. RMB 1,000/ton (2026-08-31, approx. 90th percentile since 2016); August already showing signs of "narrow-range softening, with weak downstream demand eroding the supply-tightening tailwind"; on the supply side, nominal capacity utilization is low (book capacity of 194 million tons vs. actual output of 114 million tons), but effective supply is rigid — the cycle from mining rights to effective supply exceeds 5 years, zero new capacity commissioned in 2024, and safety/environmental inspections and mining license renewals have caused periodic production cuts at small and medium mines. Mid-term risk: institutional estimates show approx. 65 million tons/year of planned new domestic phosphate rock capacity for 2025-2029, with approx. 80% concentrated in 2026-2027 (a broader caliber than the earlier "under-construction + planned over 40 million tons" statistic; both include unbuilt plans, pending verification); the tight supply-demand balance may gradually loosen in 2027-2028. H2 marginal improvement: sulfur retreating from highs (RMB 8,769/ton at end-August, -3.49% MoM but still +232% YoY) + phosphate fertilizer export resumption in September.
Key Evidence
Controlling shareholder pledges at 32.2% of its holding (13.09% at end-2025), but only 14.7% of total share capital, and previously reached 35.33% in July 2022 — a return to historical range rather than structural deterioration; in June 2026 the Group newly established Hengjing Phosphorus Chemical and took control of Weng'an/Shibing Chenggong Phosphorus Chemical (Weng'an Chenggong still loss-making at RMB 9.93 million), followed by related-party sales with the listed company capped at RMB 240 million/year (transaction direction is the listed company receiving cash, pricing referenced to market, Group providing joint commitments — limited direct cash-drain risk; the real governance issue is the Group acquiring phosphorus chemical assets off-balance-sheet, creating future horizontal competition uncertainty and injection pricing uncertainty); moreover, the iron phosphate Phase II disclosure changed repeatedly within three months (annual report: deferred → May: recovery plan → August: "adjusting construction schedule"), and investors twice questioned the fairness of information in research meeting minutes — disclosure discipline needs improvement.
Key Evidence
Current price ≈ resource NAV (approx. RMB 33.1/share, computed at mid-cycle rock price of RMB 850/ton) = 17.7× mid-cycle normalized EPS (RMB 1.90, at the upper end of the 8-18x normalized PE band) — the market is pricing it as a "growth stock" rather than a "cyclical," with the premium paid for growth already equivalent to the NAV estimate. Implied expectations under two calibers: vs. sell-side consensus of RMB 1.533 billion, current price implies 2026H2 attributable profit growth of +34.4% YoY; vs. this report's forecast midpoint of RMB 1.47 billion, implied +25.7% — both far above H1's +4.5%. Probability-weighted fair value RMB 32.55, -3.1% vs. current price. Dividend yield of 5.4% (RMB 1.8 per share TTM) provides some downside buffer, but its sustainability is squeezed by capex (see C3) and should not be treated as an independent source of margin of safety.
Key Evidence
| Metric | 2023FY | 2024FY | 2025FY | 2026H1 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue (RMB 100M) | 43.20 | 59.06 | 83.28 | 40.58 |
| Net profit attributable to parent (RMB 100M) | 7.66 | 9.56 | 12.60 | 5.60 |
| Recurring net profit attributable to parent (RMB 100M) | 7.61 | 9.36 | 12.43 | 5.53 |
| Gross margin | — | 33.1% | 30.3% | 28.5% |
| Net margin | 17.7% | 16.2% | 15.1% | 13.8% |
| Operating cash flow (RMB 100M) | 5.28 | 8.59 | 6.42 | 1.64 |
| Free cash flow (RMB 100M) | — | 4.07 | 2.72 | -0.80 |
| Cash + cash-like assets (RMB 100M) | — | — | 19.80 | 17.12 |
| Interest-bearing debt (RMB 100M) | — | 39.03 | 28.70 | 33.67 |
| Debt-to-asset ratio | — | 44.1% | 36.0% | 38.1% |
| Net debt/EBITDA | — | — | 0.41x | — (net debt RMB 1.66B) |
Note: Stock items are period-end values; 2026H1 net debt = interest-bearing debt RMB 3.367B − cash + cash-like assets RMB 1.712B = RMB 1.655 billion (bonds payable cleared to zero after the convertible bond redemption in July 2025).
Drivers of Metric Changes (YoY ≥ ±20%): 2025 revenue +41.0% — phosphoric acid +50.1%, iron phosphate +100.6%, international sales +75.5%; Guangxi Pengyue's 200,000-ton hemi-hydrate–dihydrate wet-process phosphoric acid plant reached design capacity (annual report MD&A); 2025 operating cash flow -25.3% — large-scale bill settlement (discounted bills not derecognized recorded as financing inflows) + increased procurement spending on rising raw material prices; 2025 R&D expense +88.4% — increased R&D projects at the parent and Guangxi Pengyue, R&D spend of RMB 315 million with 0% capitalization rate; 2025 accounts receivable +75.2% — company attributes to revenue growth (growth above the 41% revenue rate implies lengthening collection cycles); 2026H1 long-term borrowings +123.7% — operating needs, replacing short-term borrowings (short-term borrowings -34%); 2026H1 inventory +46.3% vs. start of year — increase in phosphate rock stock; 2026H1 minority interest income +137.8% — loss reduction/profit improvement at Guangxi Pengyue and Hengxuan New Energy.
2026H1 revenue RMB 4.058 billion (+20.76%), net profit attributable to parent RMB 560 million (+4.50%), recurring RMB 553 million (+7.91%): revenue maintained high growth but profit growth slowed sharply; blended gross margin down -2.6pp YoY to 28.5% — phosphoric acid gross margin compressed by sulfur costs from 17.76% to 9.18%, monoammonium phosphate from 49.10% to 34.30%, the main drags; feed-grade monocalcium phosphate (+44.8%, gross margin up to 36.34%) and phosphate mining/beneficiation (83.03%) served as the earnings ballast. Operating cash flow turned positive from -RMB 147 million in 2025H1 to +RMB 164 million. Versus sell-side consensus (full year RMB 1.533 billion, implying H2 +34.4%) and this report's forecast (midpoint RMB 1.47 billion, implying H2 +25.7%), H1 performance fell below the run rates required by both paths; full-year attainment depends more heavily on the triple fulfillment of sulfur price retreat + export recovery + engineering ore ramp-up; no quantified management guidance available for comparison (the company only qualitatively indicated sulfur prices may stay high, hedged via price pass-through and pyrite-based sulfuric acid production).
Business model: Resource + chemical integration — phosphate mining (asset-heavy, resource-based, licensed through 2034-2050) → hemi-hydrate wet-process phosphoric acid → feed-grade monocalcium phosphate (a leading global supplier with brand + channel pricing power) / fire-extinguishing monoammonium phosphate (leading market share) / phosphoric acid / iron phosphate. Revenue is product-sales based with no recurring revenue; exports accounted for 38.9% of 2025 revenue. Earnings structure rests on twin engines of "mining excess profit + fine phosphate brand premium," avoiding the thin-margin commodity phosphate/ammonium segment.
Cash content of earnings test: OCF/net profit attributable to parent 0.69 (2023) → 0.90 (2024) → 0.51 (2025) → 0.29 (2026H1); FCF/net profit attributable to parent 0.43 (2024) → 0.22 (2025) → -0.14 (2026H1) — persistently below the 0.8/0.5 warning thresholds, with the bulk of book profit tied up in accounts receivable (+75% in 2025), stocking inventory (+46% vs. start of year in 2026H1), and construction in progress (RMB 940 million at end-2025, +58.8%). The company attributes this to the presentation effect of bill settlement (simultaneously depressing operating inflows and investing outflows), an explanation that is internally consistent with the note on "short-term borrowings +54.6%, including RMB 297 million of bill discounting"; but even after adjusting for the bill factor, the fact remains that FCF during the expansion phase is being swallowed by capex. Recurring vs. attributable profit differences are <3% in all years, with no one-off gains/losses embellishment; the company reports no self-defined Non-GAAP measure, so there is no aggressive add-back issue.
Return on capital: Estimated ROIC of approx. 12.0% (2025), above typical manufacturing WACC (8%-9%) but below its ROE (18.2%) — the gap comes from debt leverage and the low book cost of mining rights. Under a resource revaluation lens the true return is higher, but book ROIC does not yet constitute a >15% "true moat" signal.
Maintenance capex: Cash capex/depreciation of 0.92 (2025), superficially <1; but the sharp rise in construction in progress (+58.8%) implies deferred commissioning pressure into 2026-2027, compounded by the lengthened construction periods of the three major mines — actual capital intensity is underestimated.
Red flags: ① Largest customer accounts for 50.89% of total accounts receivable (2025 annual report); ② external guarantee exposure concentrated in RMB 1.274 billion for Tianyi Mining (approx. 17% of net assets); ③ controlling shareholder pledge ratio risen to 32.2%; ④ iron phosphate Phase II impairment of RMB 14.475 million + Jinhengwang Lithium equity impairment of RMB 30.628 million — the new energy materials line falsified for the first time.
Say-do consistency: leaning optimistic; mine construction timeline commitments have repeatedly slipped. ① At the 2026-05-06 earnings briefing, management committed to "completing construction of Laozhaizi and Jigongling by end-2027" → in August 2026 both were delayed (to end-2028/end-2029), and the May statement that "construction is proceeding on plan" contradicted the delay three months later — cross-period consistency test: "inconsistent"; ② The Xiaoba retrofit was originally expected to complete by June 2027 → actually brought forward to end-2026 (only auxiliary facilities remain), with the work safety license already obtained — delivered and ahead of schedule; ③ The FY2024 dividend of RMB 12 per 10 shares was paid in full. Overall judgment: on execution, "optimistic on mine construction, pragmatic on retrofits and dividends."
Shareholder friendliness: high, but with hidden concerns in the funding structure. FY2024 payout 68.7%; FY2025 (interim + final + buyback) 86.5%; 2026 interim dividend continues at RMB 3 per 10 shares; across 2024-2026, 5.0787 million shares repurchased in two rounds were all cancelled. However, high dividends run parallel to high capex, with the gap bridged by debt (2026H1 long-term borrowings +124%, net debt rising to RMB 1.66 billion) — dividend capacity is more sensitive to phosphate rock prices than the headline payout suggests.
Risk signals: frequent termination/change/delay of IPO-funded projects (2024 termination of pyrite-based sulfuric acid project in favor of Xiaoba; 2025 termination of the 120kt food-grade purified phosphoric acid project in favor of Laozhaizi; 2026 further delay of Laozhaizi) — original project feasibility studies repeatedly proven wrong; rising share pledge ratio of the controlling shareholder; the group setting up Hengjing Phosphorus Chemical off-balance-sheet to acquire phosphorus chemical assets, with related-party transactions occurring.
| Segment | Revenue Share | Gross Margin | YoY | Business Logic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Phosphate rock mining | 5.37% | 83.03% | -6.49% | Resource monetization; Seam A rock sold externally, Seam B used internally |
| Phosphorus chemicals total | 94.63% | 25.44% | +22.79% | Hemihydrate wet-process phosphoric acid cost advantage; volume and price both up |
| — Feed-grade monocalcium phosphate | 30.11% | 36.34% | +44.80% | Global feed phosphate leader; volume and price both rising |
| — Phosphoric acid | 25.95% | 9.18% | +10.31% | Sulfuric acid cost squeeze; gross margin fell sharply |
| — Monoammonium phosphate (fire-retardant) | 16.83% | 34.30% | -4.52% | Leading fire-retardant MAP share; raw material prices rose faster than selling prices |
| — Iron phosphate | 10.44% | 11.14% | +33.19% | 100kt capacity; fierce competition and low margins; Phase II postponed |
| Others (trading + by-products) | 11.30% | Not disclosed | High growth | Iron ore concentrate, ammonium sulfate and other by-products, plus trading |
The profit engine is not the mining segment: estimated gross profit contribution (share × gross margin) — feed-grade MCP ~RMB 444 million (38.4%), MAP ~RMB 234 million (20.2%), external phosphate rock sales ~RMB 181 million (15.6%), phosphoric acid ~RMB 97 million (8.4%), iron phosphate ~RMB 47 million (4.1%). The mining segment's value lies more in supplying low-cost feedstock for the 94.6% chemical revenue than in direct profit; the spread between the highest-margin segment (83%) and the lowest (9.18%, phosphoric acid) is ~74pp — the former reflects scarcity pricing of resources, the latter the cost pass-through lag of "externally purchased sulfuric acid + homogeneous products"; this margin differential is itself quantitative proof of the mining-chemicals integration logic.
Accounting red flags: ① Accounts receivable +75.2%, significantly above revenue +41.0% (2025; severity: medium) — explanation vague; collection cycle lengthening; ② Largest customer accounts for 50.89% of receivables (medium); ③ Inventory +46.3% YTD as of 2026H1 (low) — increased phosphate rock stockpiles, possibly signaling slower external sales drawdown; ④ Volatile inventory writedown provisions/reversals (2025: provision of RMB 47.48 million / reversal of RMB 52.92 million, concentrated in iron phosphate-related items; low) — weak profitability in the new energy materials line, recurring impairments.
Cross-period consistency: ① OCF/net profit attributable to parent 0.69→0.90→0.51→0.29, a trending decline — consistent with management's "bill settlement" explanation (notes allow verification of bill discounting scale), but the trend itself remains an objective fact of deteriorating cash content; ② Overall gross margin 33.1%→30.3%→28.5%, consecutive declines — consistent with the "sulfur price surge + pass-through lag" explanation; ③ Mine construction timeline commitments end-2027→end-2028/2029 — inconsistent with prior management statements; the most important negative cross-period signal this period.
Based on this extraction of financials, no typical financial-engineering manipulation traces were found in revenue recognition or impairment timing; the main issues center on cash content and disclosure reliability rather than profit-fabrication risk.
Reserves and production: The annual report does not disclose per-mine reserve figures (only licensed capacity and mine life); reserve replacement ratio cannot be computed — explicitly flagged as not obtained. Licensed capacity: Xiaoba 800kt/yr (through 2041; retrofit main works complete), Xinqiao 1,000kt/yr (through 2041; EIA underway for expansion to 2,200kt/yr), Jigongling 2,500kt/yr (through 2050; under construction, delayed to end-2029), Laozhaizi 1,800kt/yr (through 2034; under construction, delayed to end-2028), Laohudong (49% stake; under construction, delayed to end-2028). Production: 2024 3.1484 Mt → 2025 3.3442 Mt (+6.2%) → 2026H1 1.7166 Mt; external sales 679.3 → 749.1 → 318.7 kt. Grade: the company does not disclose specific grades; industry context: domestic average grade 16.85%; via flotation the company can upgrade 20%-27% P2O5 medium-low grade ore into concentrate above 33% (P2O5 recovery >93%).
Unit economics: Phosphate rock external sales average price ~RMB 752/tonne in 2025 → ~RMB 684/tonne in 2026H1 (calculated = external sales revenue / volume; below the market 30%-grade quote due to grade and mix differences); external sales unit cost ~RMB 142 → 116/tonne; gross margin 81.10% → 83.03%. The company does not disclose an AISC-type metric; inferring from unit cost below 20% of selling price, its self-mined rock sits at the low end of the domestic cost curve (inference, not company disclosure).
Hedging and price sensitivity: No commodity hedging disclosed; FX hedging is forward FX settlement/sales of RMB 482 million (5.67% of net assets), with FX gain of RMB 2.76 million in 2026H1. Price sensitivity: at ~750kt/yr external sales, every 10% drop in rock prices directly hits mining EBITDA by ~RMB -46 million (attributable ~RMB -34 million, 2.7% of 2025 attributable profit) — direct impact manageable; the real risk is chemical product prices falling in tandem with rock prices (every 1pp squeeze on chemical gross margin costs ~RMB 78 million in gross profit) and linked impairment testing.
Geopolitics and mining rights: Mines concentrated in Weng'an/Fuquan, Guizhou; mining licenses run to 2034-2050, no near-term renewal concerns; Jigongling's interlayer resources via agreement transfer of mining rights still require regulator approval (interim report explicitly notes uncertainty); summer 2026 safety/environmental special inspections across Yunnan-Guizhou-Sichuan-Hubei caused phased output cuts at small/mid mines (short-term positive for rock prices, also flags regulatory risk); both Laozhaizi and Laohudong delays relate to hydrogeological conditions — regional water-inrush risk has been repeatedly validated by these two projects.
NAV perspective: Three-part estimate — ① Existing business EPV RMB 21.11/share × 606 million shares ≈ RMB 12.8 billion; ② Incremental consolidating mines 4.3 Mt × attributable net profit per tonne ~RMB 215 × 9x × 0.7 (delay/ramp-up discount) ≈ RMB 5.8 billion; ③ Tianyi Mining equity at book value RMB 1.44 billion (conservative). Total ~RMB 20.0 billion = RMB 33.1/share, essentially matching the current price of RMB 33.58; sensitivity: net profit per tonne ±RMB 50 → NAV per share ±RMB 3.2. Missing inputs: per-mine reserves undisclosed; resource value-per-tonne method not applied.
Current market data: Closing price RMB 33.58 (2026-08-31), total shares 605.9 million, market cap ~RMB 20.3 billion. PE(TTM) 15.84x (29% of 1-yr / 76% of 3-yr / 54% of 5-yr range), PB 2.75x (82% of 3-yr range), dividend yield (TTM) 5.36%. Percentiles for reference only: TTM earnings include cyclical windfall from rock prices at the 90th percentile, and 2026H1 growth has slowed — the PE percentile is not a headline cheap/rich signal; PB 2.75x is supported by ROE 18.2% (88th percentile of industry).
Peer comparison:
| Company | PE(TTM) | PB | 2026H1 attributable profit growth | 2025 ROE | Key difference |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yuntianhua | 10.75 | 2.26 | +6.1% | 21.97% | Largest phosphate rock miner/processor at 14.5 Mt/yr; bulk phosphate fertilizers + trading dilute margins |
| Xingfa Group | 23.44 | 1.50 | +15.0% | 6.56% (ex-non-recurring) | 5.85 Mt rock + organosilicon diversified platform; gross margin 17.96% |
| Chuanfa Longmusen | 40.33 | 1.67 | -5.4% | 4.34% | Same mining-chemicals integration track but notably weaker profitability (2025 attributable profit RMB 414 million) |
| Yuntu Holdings | 16.07 | 1.67 | +38.6% | 9.08% | Compound fertilizer-led, low rock self-sufficiency; gross margin 11.84% |
| Chuanheng | 15.84 | 2.75 | +4.5% | 18.17% | Purest mining-chemicals integration; 30% gross margin, highest in peer set |
Market-implied expectations: Current price = 13.3× 2026E consensus EPS (RMB 2.53) = 17.7× mid-cycle normalized EPS (RMB 1.90). The current price requires: rock prices holding flat at RMB 1,000/tonne without falling + new mines on schedule + 2026H2 attributable profit +25%~+34% YoY; whereas H1 reality is +4.5%, gross margin -2.6pp YoY, and delays at three mines. Implied expectations are elevated but not absurd — current price is at a 29% discount to the sell-side target price median of RMB 47.3; the market has already discounted consensus.
Three layers of value: Asset value floor ~RMB 12.2/share (book-basis reference); zero-growth EPV RMB 21.11/share (normalized EPS RMB 1.90 ÷ WACC 9%; normalized base = mid-cycle rock price RMB 850/tonne + sulfur price decline + retrofit offsets, corresponding to attributable profit RMB 1.15 billion, ROE cross-check 15.5% at the lower end of the 2022-2025 range); growth option RMB 12.47/share, 37.1% of current price — the growth option is a non-trivial share; the current price is not "pricing zero growth only"; the key is whether growth materializes (mine delays directly erode this layer). EPV plus growth option ≈ current price; asset value is only a liquidation floor and not added into the sum.
Three scenarios and odds (at RMB 33.58, 2026-08-31 close):
| Scenario | Fair range | vs Current | Probability | Swing factor |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bear | RMB 19-23 | -43%~-32% (midpoint -37%) | 30% | Rock prices fall to RMB 700-800 + further Laozhaizi delay/impairment: 2027E attributable profit RMB 1.05-1.2 bn × 11x (anchor: near own 5-yr PE range low of 10.9x) |
| Base | RMB 32-37 | -5%~+10% (midpoint +2.8%) | 50% | Rock prices flat at RMB 950-1,050 + Xiaoba full production + Pengyue retrofit + engineering ore ramp-up: 2027E attributable profit RMB 1.5-1.65 bn × 13-14x (anchor: ~70% of peer median 19.6x + below own 5-yr median 15.4x; rationale for deviation from anchor: mine delays reduce growth certainty, rock prices at 90th percentile) |
| Bull | RMB 42-48 | +25%~+43% (midpoint +34%) | 20% | Export liberalization + significant sulfur price decline + iron phosphate Phase II restart + rock prices moving higher: 2027E attributable profit RMB 1.8-1.95 bn × 14.5-15.5x (anchor: Yuntianhua cyclical-high valuation + resource scarcity premium, near sell-side target RMB 47.3) |
Probability-weighted fair value RMB 32.55, -3.1% vs current price; the current price sits near the distribution midpoint, slightly above — odds skewed slightly negative, no margin of safety (base-case floor of RMB 32 is -4.7% vs current). Bear case cross-checked against the market's most pessimistic anchor: the downgrade sensitivity factors listed in the convertible bond rating tracking report (2025-06) (accelerated investment pace, operating cash flow failing to cover investment, debt expansion, industry downturn) have been partially realized in 2026H1; this bear case's combination of "rock price decline + delays + impairments + weakening cash flow" already covers their implications (that report gave no target price); the base case falls between the rating agency's pessimistic framework and the sell-side bullish anchor of RMB 47.3 — anchoring is reasonable.
Own earnings forecast (performance reconciliation anchor): 2026E revenue RMB 9.3-9.8 bn (+12%-18%), attributable profit RMB 1.42-1.52 bn (+13%-21%, midpoint RMB 1.47 bn); 2027E revenue RMB 10.0-11.0 bn, attributable profit RMB 1.5-1.65 bn (+5%-13%). vs sell-side consensus 2026E RMB 1.533 bn / 2027E RMB 1.80 bn: this report is RMB 10-110 million lower / 8%-17% lower — the difference lies in no major mine contribution in 2027 after the delays (Jigongling not completed until end-2029), while sell-side models have not yet adjusted to the new timeline. vs management guidance: no quantitative guidance; management qualitatively flagged "substantially increasing phosphate rock supply in the future" (medium-term rock price risk).
Conclusion: judgment=fair. Assess quality and price separately — quality is excellent (ROE 18%, highest gross margin among peers, 5.4% dividend yield, long-term capacity doubling), but the current price fully prices in growth with no discount; not a short candidate (no de-rating catalysts materialized; a quality resource stock should not be aggressively shorted in a liquidity-driven rally), nor an ideal entry point.
Industry size: China's phosphate rock output in 2025 was 121.468 Mt, up ~+7% YoY (National Bureau of Statistics, as cited in listed-company annual reports); phosphorus chemical industry output value ~RMB 235.565 billion in 2023 (Huajing Industry Research Institute); phosphate rock market value on the order of ~120 Mt × average price RMB 1,000/tonne ≈ RMB 120 billion (estimated, to be verified). Growth is diverging structurally: phosphate fertilizers in steady state (2026-2027 MAP apparent consumption growth of only 1%/0.5%), with incremental demand in new energy — the share of domestic rock output corresponding to energy storage + power battery demand rising from ~10.0% in 2025 to ~14.7% in 2027 (estimated from InfoLink/SNE/Frost & Sullivan forecasts), equivalent to incremental phosphate rock demand of ~2-3 Mt/yr. Hard math on unit consumption: each GWh of LFP batteries ≈ 0.25kt iron phosphate × 4 tonnes rock = 10 kilotonnes of rock; global storage + power battery rock demand ~12.72/16.52/20.62 Mt in 2025/2026/2027 — phosphate rock is shifting from a purely agricultural input to a dual "agricultural input + energy metal" attribute; moreover, storage-grade iron phosphate requires high rock purity, so the actually suitable volume of high-grade rock is scarcer than the total suggests. Overall industry growth of low single digits over the next 3-5 years, structurally tilting toward new energy.
Value chain and profit distribution: Upstream phosphate rock (irreplaceable; China contributes 45.8% of global output from ~5% of reserves, reserve/production ratio only 33.6, USGS 2024 — scarcity lets the mining segment sustain a premium) + sulfur/sulfuric acid (sharp rises since H2 2024 pushing up midstream costs); midstream wet-process/purified phosphoric acid (wet-process displacing thermal yellow phosphorus is the main line); downstream phosphate fertilizers (>54% of rock demand; overcapacity, thin margins near cost), feed/industrial phosphates and LFP (high value-added). Gross profit accrues mainly to the mining and fine phosphate ends: Chuanheng, via mining-chemicals integration, avoids the thin-margin ammonium phosphate segment; 2025 overall gross margin 30.26% vs Yuntu Holdings 11.84%; the company sits midstream in "mining + chemicals" integration, with strong bargaining power downstream (rock oligopoly + tight balance) but average bargaining power over upstream sulfur (cost pass-through obstructed 2024-2025).
Supply-demand and competitive landscape: Demand drivers = phosphate fertilizer agricultural baseline (~7.2 Mt/yr pure nutrient) + structural LFP growth (2024 LFP demand ~1.98 Mt, +34%; 2026H1 energy storage battery shipments +120% YoY); supply: nominal capacity 194 Mt (2024) vs actual output 114 Mt — effective supply far below book, output concentrated in Hubei/Yunnan/Guizhou/Sichuan (99% in 2023); capacity under construction/planned figures vary ("over 40 Mt" vs "~65 Mt planned for 2025-2029, 80% concentrated in 2026-2027" — both circulate, both include unbuilt projects), but the cycle from mining rights to effective supply exceeds 5 years, with zero new capacity commissioned in 2024 — very low short-term supply elasticity; the tight balance may gradually loosen in the medium term (2027-2028). Concentration: phosphate rock CR5 ~66.1% (2022, Huajing: Guizhou Phosphorus Chemical 24.1%, Yuntianhua 21.1%, Xingfa 8.8%); the phosphate fertilizer segment has ~150 firms with low concentration. Entry barriers are extremely high: rock is on the national strategic minerals catalog, new mining licenses are scarce, rich ores are depleting and grades declining, plus hard constraints from Yangtze River protection and safety/environmental rules. Substitution threat: no large-scale substitute element for phosphorus (agricultural essential demand); on the new energy side, LFP accounts for nearly 100% of storage scenarios, while in power batteries it faces partial substitution from ternary/sodium-ion.
Cycles and regulation: Four cycles of 30%-grade rock prices — 2016-2020 low-range oscillation at RMB 300-500 (protective mining + Yangtze protection); H2 2021-H1 2022 major upswing (global grain prices + export window + LFP launch; ~RMB 1,043/tonne in June 2022); H2 2022-2023 pullback and range; 2024-2026 high plateau (midpoint RMB 1,000-1,050, sideways for over three years). The biggest difference this cycle: "resource premium" replacing "agri-input cycle" as the dominant pricing force. Three regulatory tracks: ① Phosphate fertilizer export controls — exports suspended Jan-Aug 2026 (July DAP exports zero), normalized declarations resumed from September 1; a policy inflection has appeared; ② Phosphogypsum — from 2026, Guizhou requires 100% harmless treatment of new phosphogypsum before stacking; rigidly rising environmental costs accelerating small-capacity exit; ③ Fertilizer supply and price stabilization (NDRC spring planting notice, Feb 2026). The policy mix is neutral-to-positive for mining-chemicals integrated players: export suspensions depress ammonium phosphate prices, but domestic supply guarantees + inspection-driven output cuts instead support the mining segment's scarcity premium.
Peer comparison: See Section XI valuation table. Additional operating dimensions — Yuntianhua: rock reserves near 800 Mt (~1/4 of the national total), capacity 14.5 Mt/yr; far larger than Chuanheng but bulk fertilizers + trading dilute gross margin (~20.9% in 2026H1); Xingfa Group: mining rights reserves ~395 Mt, extraction capacity 5.85 Mt/yr; diversified platform of phosphorus chemicals + organosilicon + electronic chemicals; 2025 gross margin 17.96%, ex-non-recurring ROE 6.56%; Chuanfa Longmusen: reserves ~130 Mt, capacity 4.1 Mt/yr, same track as Chuanheng but 2025 attributable profit only RMB 414 million (Chuanheng RMB 1.26 billion); Yuntu Holdings: compound-fertilizer-led with low rock self-sufficiency. Chuanheng's scale ranking: producing rock capacity in the first tier of A-share phosphorus chemical names (behind Yuntianhua and Xingfa, ahead of Chuanfa Longmusen in output); profitability quality (30% gross margin, 18% ROE) at the highest percentile of peers.
Company positioning: Mining-chemicals integrated private benchmark; major global supplier of feed-grade monocalcium phosphate. Moat sources: ① scarce mining licenses + high-grade ore resource barrier; ② cost and profit structure advantage of mining-chemicals integration (high-mining-margin + fine phosphate brand premium); ③ hemihydrate phosphogypsum backfill technology (utilization >120% in 2026H1) forming an environmental barrier; ④ by-product fluorine resources (20kt anhydrous hydrofluoric acid already in production; ~50kg HF byproduct per tonne of merchant phosphoric acid, extendable to lithium hexafluorophosphate) opening a second growth curve. Rising share: 2025 revenue +41%, attributable profit +31.8%, growth and profitability quality both leading peers. Risks: iron phosphate overcapacity (H1 gross margin only 11.14%), potential loosening of the mining tight balance after 2027 as planned capacity comes online, and swings in phosphate fertilizer export policy.
Overall assessment: Maintain Neutral (confidence 0.60, 12-18 months). Chuanheng is one of the few phosphorus chemical names with a triple moat of "resource self-sufficiency + fine phosphate brands + environmental technology," and its quality assessment is positive; however, the closing price of RMB 33.58 on 2026-08-31 coincides with the mid-cycle NAV, growth options account for 37% of the current price, and their realization vehicles (the three major mines) have just been fully delayed, making the odds neutral to slightly unfavorable. Strategically: holders can wait for the 2027-2028 mine-side volume realization with a 5.4% dividend yield; incremental capital is advised to wait for one of two signals—① a price pullback below RMB 32 (baseline fair-value floor) triggered by phosphate rock prices falling below RMB 850/ton or concentrated sell-side downward revisions, or ② export volume ramp-up plus sulfur price declines validating an upward earnings revision path in 2026H2. Liquidity is normal (average daily turnover of approximately RMB 200-300 million), with no low-liquidity constraints.
Risk warnings: Phosphate rock prices falling from elevated levels (90th percentile + mid-term capacity additions); further mine delays or impairments (Laozhaizi fund-raising project only 11.88% complete); tail risk of guarantee substitution for Tianyi Mining; another spike in sulfur prices; reversals in phosphate fertilizer export policy; controlling shareholder pledge and related-party transactions.
Catalyst calendar:
(For tracking conditions and falsification thresholds, see the watchlist: phosphate rock 30% grade RMB 1,050/850 thresholds, share price RMB 32/37 thresholds, Q3 report and annual report reconciliation, and Tianyi Mining guarantee progress.)