Rating: Neutral | Target Price Range: RMB 110–145 (fair value under base case) | Current Price: RMB 144.42 (close on 2026-09-01) | Time horizon: 6–12 months
| Key Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Total market cap | ~RMB 350.8 billion (2.429 billion shares × RMB 144.42) |
| Probability-weighted fair value | ~RMB 125, -13.4% vs. current price |
| Margin of safety | -24% ((base-case fair value floor of 110 − current price) / current price; negative = price above base-case floor) |
| Scenario odds | +26% to bull-case midpoint / -14% to base-case midpoint / -57% to bear-case midpoint |
| Past 52 weeks | High 187.2 / Low RMB 45.88, current price -23% from high; +192% over past 365 days |
Shengyi Technology is the mainland China name with the highest realization of the structural demand inflection in AI high-speed copper clad laminate (CCL): 2026H1 revenue of RMB 19.026 billion (+50.05%), net profit attributable to parent of RMB 3.287 billion (+130.42%), and core gross margin rising for four consecutive periods from 17.89% to 29.24%; on the industry side, the AI CCL market is set to grow from USD 2.2 billion in 2025 to USD 3.4 billion in 2026E, with an upstream low-DK glass fabric supply gap of ~46%, supporting continued volume-and-price gains through 2027. However, the current price of RMB 144.42 precisely reflects the full sell-side consensus path—market cap is roughly equal to "2027E consensus net profit of RMB 10.63 billion × 33x forward P/E," implying a 2026–2028 net profit CAGR of 31–44%, requiring Shengyi to replicate EMC's 2024–2026 realization trajectory; probability-weighted fair value is ~RMB 125, about 13% below the current price, with left-skewed odds (upside +26%, downside -57%). Conclusion: an excellent company, fully priced—judge quality and price separately; the inflection is real, but this is not the entry point. We recommend staying on the sidelines or waiting for a pullback to the lower end of the base-case range (~RMB 110–125) before reassessing; key items to track are the Q3 report due late October (whether M9/high-speed revenue is quantified) and US cloud providers' 2027 capex guidance in October–November. Key constraints to flag: the claim that M9 is "the only NVIDIA-certified material in mainland China" currently rests solely on media reports and institutional meeting notes—the company has not confirmed it in either of two exchanges' interactive-platform inquiries; and there is a genuine risk that the industry-wide capacity expansion wave in 2027–2028 coincides with decelerating AI capex growth.
In one sentence: The volume-and-price upcycle in AI high-speed CCL is a genuine realization (2026H1 net profit +130%, gross margin rising consecutively), with near-term verifiable catalysts (Q3 report / M9 ramping with Rubin / Thailand plant starting production in September); but the current price fully embeds consensus, scenario-weighted fair value is ~RMB 125, and odds are left-skewed—"high quality but fully priced"—the current level does not constitute a standalone buying point.
Key evidence:
Industry demand math (drivers × unit content × penetration × share): AI server shipments exceeding 2 million units in 2026E (+28.3%, TrendForce); AI's share of PCB demand rising from 15% to 25%+ within a year; AI server PCB value at 3–5x traditional servers, average layer count 18 layers (2023) → 32 layers (2025); material generations M6→M8→M9 with multiple-fold price jumps per tier. Shengyi is No. 2 globally in overall rigid CCL (13.2%), but a chaser in the high-speed/specialty resin segment—third-party citations put its share at ~6–7% (mainland players combined ~8.3%, unverified), while EMC leads decisively at 38.6% (per Prismark high-speed basis, as cited by the company). The bear view: the +28% blended ASP cannot distinguish AI structural upgrades from raw material pass-through, and the company has not disclosed high-speed revenue share, so attribution is questionable; moreover, all claims that "M9 passed NVIDIA certification in 2025-12, the only one in mainland China" (EET-China 2025-12-29, ifeng.com 2026-08-25, etc.) are media/institutional meeting-note secondhand accounts; when directly asked about M9/M10 certification twice on the SSE e-interaction platform (2026-05-11 and 2026-07-06), the company did not confirm (only answering "flexible allocation capability… please refer to periodic reports"). We accept this criticism: this thesis rests on audited/disclosed financial and industry data, treats M9 certification as "secondhand, pending verification," with the verification checkpoint being whether the Q3 report quantifies M9/high-speed revenue for the first time.
Key evidence:
The cash-content series shows this is not receivables-driven paper profit (receivables/revenue stable at 33–36% over three years, ~99.7% aged under one year), but "excellent cash quality" needs qualification: 2026H1 OCF/attributable profit of 0.91 reflects temporary capacity-expansion stockpiling; minority interest income of RMB 431 million (11.6% of consolidated net profit, via 36.44% minority stake in Shengyi Electronics) dilutes the attributable-basis AI quality; real estate inventory impairment (-RMB 136 million in H1) erodes non-GAAP profit for the second consecutive year. The true shareholder picture: RMB 2.9 billion in dividends over one year plus capex up 96% YoY (RMB 1.885 billion in H1), which free cash flow (~RMB 1.1 billion in H1) temporarily cannot simultaneously cover, with the gap filled by leverage—earnings quality is good, but shareholder-discretionary cash is being consumed by expansion; this is proactive positioning rather than a black hole, at the cost of operating-leverage backlash if demand falls.
Key evidence:
Growth-basis check (bases must be unified before comparison): single-year basis PEG = 2026E PE 51.5x ÷ 2026E growth 101.8% ≈ 0.51; 2027E basis 33.0/56.0 ≈ 0.59; but on this report's implied three-year CAGR basis (31–44%), PEG is 0.75–1.06—not cheap—EMC (~0.45 single-year basis) and Shennan/WUS (~0.50) figures are likewise single-year bases; cross-basis direct comparison would mislead. Overall conclusion: on a growth basis, Shengyi's valuation is "not notably cheap, but not in extreme bubble either"; however, with PB at the 97th historical percentile (even if 2026H1 annualized ROE of 35.5% supports the high PB), there is virtually no room for multiple contraction; left-skewed odds (+26% to bull-case midpoint / -57% to bear-case midpoint) are the main problem with the current price, not fundamental falsification.
Key evidence:
The risk structure must be layered: from 2027, the return of price competition in standard/mid-range boards is highly likely (gross margins as low as 9% for generic tiers like Huazheng New Material serve as the floor reference); the bottleneck for high-end M8/M9+ boards lies in low-DK glass fabric / quartz fabric and HVLP copper foil (expansion cycle ~2 years, shortage expected through 2027), not press count—the "industry-wide oversupply" narrative does not hold. The real risk path is partial overlap of three factors: price wars in standard boards diluting blended gross margin + high-end new capacity progressively coming online in 2027–2028 + AI capex growth deceleration, causing the market to reprice Shengyi from "growth stock" to "cyclical stock." If that scenario materializes (high-end ASP declining >10% annually + 2027 capex guidance growth below 15%), the bear case implies RMB 50–75 (-48% to -65% from current).
| Metric | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 | 2026H1 (latest period) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating revenue (RMB bn) | 16.586 | 20.388 | 28.431 | 19.026 (+50.05%) |
| Net profit attributable to parent (RMB bn) | 1.164 | 1.739 | 3.334 | 3.287 (+130.42%) |
| Non-GAAP attributable net profit (RMB bn) | — | 1.675 | 3.175 | 2.908 (+110.99%) |
| Core gross margin | 17.89% | 20.58% | 25.10% | 29.24% (+4.76pct) |
| Attributable net margin | 7.02% | 8.53% | 11.73% | 17.28% |
| Operating cash flow (RMB bn) | 2.743 | 1.456 | 5.274 | 2.983 (+53.44%) |
| Free cash flow (RMB bn, OCF−CapEx) | 1.634 | 0.530 | 2.898 | 1.099 |
| Cash + trading financial assets (RMB bn) | 2.837 | 2.146 | 2.492 | 4.629 (2026-06-30) |
| Interest-bearing debt (RMB bn) | — | 3.584 | 3.677 | 6.342 (2026-06-30) |
| Debt-to-asset ratio | 37.09% | 40.29% | 42.29% | 50.33% (2026-06-30) |
| CCL sales volume (10k sqm) | 12,016.91 | 14,348.54 | 16,062.79 | 8,714.01 (+14.24%) |
| Blended ASP (RMB/sqm, estimated) | 105.1 | 103.1 | 110.7 | 141.8 (+28.2%) |
Reasons for metric changes (items with YoY ≥ ±20%, each with management's explanation): ① 2026H1 revenue +50.05%—"mainly due to continued optimization in CCL sales volume and product mix, and increased PCB sales volume and higher share of high value-added products"; ② 2025 operating cash flow +262.17%—"mainly due to increased cash received from sales of goods and provision of services" (price pass-through collection cycle); ③ 2026H1 inventory +30.0% from start of year—"mainly due to increased material purchases and higher material prices" (strategic stockpiling during the price upcycle); ④ 2026H1 construction in progress +58.2% from start of year—"mainly due to increased net investment in the Ji'an smart manufacturing high-multilayer computing circuit board project and Thailand Plant Phase I"; ⑤ 2026H1 fair value change gains of RMB 410 million (vs. only RMB 6.45 million a year earlier)—"mainly from fair value changes of Lianrui New Materials convertible bonds" (fully classified as non-recurring); ⑥ 2026H1 asset impairment losses of -RMB 136 million (+177.5%)—"mainly due to increased inventory write-down provisions by Xianyang Shengyi Real Estate."
2026H1 revenue of RMB 19.026 billion (+50.05%), attributable net profit of RMB 3.287 billion (+130.42%, at the upper end of the July pre-announcement range of RMB 3.099–3.298 billion), non-GAAP net profit of RMB 2.908 billion (+110.99%); Q2 standalone attributable net profit of RMB 2.129 billion, +83.8% QoQ and +146.7% YoY, with core gross margin (30.69% on an all-in estimated basis) at a single-quarter record. Volume-price decomposition: CCL volume +14.24%, blended ASP +28.2%—the price direction is consistent with the industry pass-through cycle (Kingboard's 7 price hikes this year; Nan Ya raising another 20–25% from 9/1), but the company has not disclosed high-speed board revenue share, so how much of the gain comes from AI structural upgrades versus raw material pass-through cannot be disaggregated from disclosures (the core of the market debate). By segment: CCL and bonding prepreg revenue +47.7%, gross margin 29.16% (+5.47pct); Shengyi Electronics (PCB) revenue +52.0%, gross margin 31.20% (+3.35pct). Quality caveats: H1 attributable profit includes RMB 410 million of unrealized gains on Lianrui New Materials convertible bonds (11.5% of attributable profit)—non-GAAP is the truer measure; minority interest income of RMB 431 million (+119.6%) takes away 11.6% of consolidated net profit. Versus sell-side expectations: H1 delivered 48.3% of the consensus 2026E full-year forecast (RMB 6.81 billion)—exactly in line, neither beating nor lagging. The biggest marginal balance-sheet change is leverage: cash-like assets of RMB 4.629 billion vs. interest-bearing debt of RMB 6.342 billion, a swing from net cash to net debt of RMB 1.713 billion; debt-to-asset ratio rose 8pct in six months to 50.33%, driven by dividends (RMB 1.943 billion paid May–June) combined with expansion capex (RMB 1.885 billion in H1, +95.6%).
Business model in brief: Asset-heavy electronic materials manufacturing — the world's No.2 rigid CCL maker (13.2% market share in 2025, per Prismark) plus a 62.93% controlled subsidiary Shengyi Electronics (AI computing PCB). Revenue is entirely product sales with no recurring subscription income, but the company has a strong price-pass-through mechanism: direct materials account for 87.46% of the CCL segment's cost (copper foil + glass fabric + resin). At end of March 2025, the company raised prices proactively for the first time "to pass on rising raw material costs and reduce the negative scissors gap"; in 2026H1 it further "adjusted product pricing strategy based on market shortages and capacity tightness across the supply chain" — pricing power has been validated during periods of supply shortage.
Cash-content test of earnings: OCF/net profit attributable to parent for 2023–2026H1 was 2.36 / 0.84 / 1.58 / 0.91; FCF/attributable was 1.40 / 0.30 / 0.87 / 0.33 — positive on average, but below threshold twice (2024 and 2026H1), corresponding to raw-material price hikes and inventory build-up (management's explanation is consistent with working-capital movements: inventory and receivables rose with revenue expansion, and receivables/revenue has been stable at 33–36% for three years). No structural deterioration of "profit turning into receivables" was found, but free cash flow compression during the expansion phase is a fact. Recurring-earnings test: In 2026H1, non-recurring gains/losses of RMB 379 million accounted for 11.5% of attributable profit (mainly RMB 410 million unrealized fair-value gains on convertible bonds, reversible in H2); non-GAAP growth of +111% aligns in direction with attributable +130%, and one-off items do not embellish the trend; a reverse check found no aggressive Non-GAAP presentation (A-share disclosure of non-recurring items).
Return on capital: Calculated ROIC was ~8.7% in 2024 → ~16.6% in 2025 (total profit × 85% / (interest-bearing debt + net assets)); annualized 2026H1 ROE ~35.5% — return on capital has surpassed WACC (~10%) and is accelerating in this upcycle; the endogenous return on expansion has been provisionally validated.
Maintenance-capex interrogation: CapEx/depreciation for 2023–2025 was 1.39 / 1.06 / 2.58, and cash spent on construction in 2026H1 rose a further +95.6% — pre-2024 the company was a cash cow (≈1); the current 2.58 is a pro-cyclical expansion peak (Jiangxi Phase II + Thailand + Songshan Lake RMB 5.2bn + Ji'an RMB 2.257bn). "Maintenance" vs "expansion" must be distinguished: nearly all of this round's CapEx goes toward securing high-end capacity rather than maintaining old capacity, but its return depends on sustained AI demand; if demand flattens in 2027, depreciation on new capacity (estimated incremental annualized RMB 400–600 million) will erode profit in reverse.
Moat and red flags: Moat = scale + full product range (160 million ㎡ sold annually) + in-house resin formulations + stickiness from 2–3-year end-customer certification cycles + vertical synergy with Shengyi Electronics. Three red flags: ① Largest single customer's revenue share jumped from 5.0% to 13.8% within one year (2025, RMB 3.924bn) — a steep rise in AI mega-customer concentration (the company has not disclosed the customer's identity); ② minority shareholders in Shengyi Electronics take away 36.4%, structurally diluting the AI content of attributable profit; ③ 2026H1 CapEx +95.6% plus dividends turned net cash into net debt.
Consistency of words and deeds: pragmatic, leaning conservative (over-delivery type). Volume budgets have come in far below actuals for two consecutive years: the FY2023 annual report budgeted 121.83 million ㎡ of CCL sales for 2024, actual was 143.4854 million ㎡ (+17.7%); the FY2024 annual report budgeted 126.37 million ㎡ for 2025, actual was 160.6279 million ㎡ (+27.1%); the 2026 budget is 145.10 million ㎡, with 87.14 million ㎡ sold in H1 (annualized ~174 million ㎡) — a third consecutive year of over-delivery is highly likely. The company never gives revenue/profit guidance, and its budgeting has been consistently conservative — for investors, this is a positive record of "low promises, high delivery."
Shareholder friendliness: high dividends, zero buyback-and-cancellation, financing as a tool. Payout ratios: 91.4% in 2023, 83.8% in 2024, 87.43% in 2025 (RMB 2.915bn total for FY2025; cumulative dividends since listing exceed RMB 14.8bn) — cash dividends are generous. However, no buyback-and-cancellation in the past three years; in February 2026 the company issued RMB 2bn of exchangeable bonds (0.01% coupon, collateralized by Shengyi Electronics shares); the subsidiary Shengyi Electronics' RMB 2.53bn private placement has been approved (dilution occurs at the minority-shareholder level). Overall verdict: shareholder-friendly on the dividend dimension, neutral on capital operations.
Risk signals: ① Continuous small-scale executive selling (two executives sold ~1.21 million shares combined in 2025; Chairman Chen Renxi sold 300,800 shares in January 2026, with an additional plan to sell up to 335,800 shares, window expiring 2026-09-22, unexecuted as of early August — ~RMB 48 million; negligible actual supply impact, but timing is sensitive); ② the largest shareholder Guangxin Group (holding 24.38%) sold a combined ~24.29 million shares in two rounds (2025-12 and 2026-02), ~1% of total share capital (~RMB 2.4–3.5bn at current price) — industrial capital proactively cashing out during this main up-leg, consistent with the interpretation that "insiders believe valuation is full"; ③ execution flaws in earn-out receivables (Wanrong Technology owes RMB 69.31 million but has paid only RMB 31 million over years); ④ incentives are strongly tied to non-GAAP net profit (13% of net profit accrued annually as incentives) — aligned interests, but this amplifies expense in high-growth profit years. Pledge ratio is 0%, no future unlock batches, no forced-liquidation/unlock risk.
| Segment | Revenue share (2026H1 main business) | Gross margin | Revenue YoY | Business logic in one line |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CCL and bonding prepreg | 66.4% | 29.16% (+5.47pct) | +47.74% | Profit base: price pass-through + high-end mix upgrade; direct materials = 87% of cost |
| Printed circuit boards (Shengyi Electronics, 62.93% held) | 29.6% | 31.20% (+3.35pct) | +52.03% | AI computing board ramp (800G in mass production, 1.6T small-batch), highest-margin segment |
| Waste resource utilization (Hunan Lvsheng, etc.) | 2.6% | 19.05% | +11.53% | Hazardous waste disposal + metal recovery + copper hedging; small scale, improving profitability |
| Real estate (Shengyi Real Estate, etc.) | 1.4% | 10.30% | Delivery carryover | Inventory clearance + continued impairments; pure drag (2025 segment loss RMB 80 million) |
Profit mainstay: In 2025, the CCL segment posted total profit of RMB 2.329bn, 52.7% of the total — still the largest profit source; but Shengyi Electronics (PCB) is growing fastest (2025 revenue +103.9%; its 2026H1 gross margin has overtaken the CCL segment), and AI computing boards carry the greatest marginal elasticity — the growth engine is the PCB segment, the stabilizer is the CCL segment, and the latter happens to be the part wholly owned (100%) by the parent. Gross-margin structure: PCB 31.2% vs CCL 29.2% vs waste resources 19.1% vs real estate 10.3% — a 21pct spread between highest and lowest. Real estate is a historical legacy with a completely different business model, while CCL and PCB are converging via AI high-end products. The company does not disclose quantified shares by downstream application (server/auto/consumer electronics), only qualitatively stating "AI servers/data centers as the absolute growth mainline, automotive steady, home appliances declining."
Accounting red flags (all low severity, based on the four annual + semi-annual reports sampled this time):
Cross-period consistency: ① Main-business gross margin rose continuously: 17.89% → 20.58% → 25.10% → 29.24%, consistent with management's attribution (first round of price hikes in March 2025 → repricing in 2026H1 amid supply shortage); ② OCF/attributable of 2.36 → 0.84 → 1.58 → 0.91 shows wide swings, consistent with the "raw-material cost surge inventory build → price pass-through cash collection" cycle; ③ largest single customer share 5.0% → 13.8%, unexplained by the company (only the figure is disclosed); ④ real estate segment posting losses and impairments year after year, no exit plan disclosed. Overall conclusion: based on the sampled financial reports, no obvious signs of financial engineering or cross-period anomalies were found — the step-up in profit is driven by volume, price, and mix, cash content is positive, and impairments are concentrated in non-core real estate; the main flaws lie in disclosure granularity (high-speed revenue share, mega-customer identity) rather than accounting treatment.
(1) Grade mix is the primary pricing variable. CCL is tiered by loss grade (standard FR-4 → mid-loss → low-loss M6 → ultra-low-loss M8/M9 → PTFE/quartz-fabric systems), with a generational switch roughly every 1.5–2 years (Rubin standard: M9 + quartz fabric + HVLP4 copper foil, mass production in 2026H2). M9 pricing is ~RMB 400/㎡, roughly 10× standard FR-4 (media-cited figures); specialty resin-based / high-end CCL already accounts for 37.7% of rigid CCL sales (2024) and rises ~5pct annually. Within the same company, grade mix matters more for profitability than total capacity: Shengyi's CCL segment gross margin is 29% vs 9% for generic peer Huazheng New Material and 12% for Nanya New Material — the gap comes almost entirely from grade mix.
(2) Price pass-through determines gross-margin elasticity and lag. Direct materials are 87% of cost; copper prices (SHFE ~RMB 110k/ton; backwardation indicating tight spot supply) + electronic fabric (another ~20% MoM rise in August) + resin price increases erode margins first, then get passed on via price hikes — after the first round of hikes in March 2025, gross margin improved quarter by quarter, validating a transmission lag of about one quarter. The industry is still in a price-hike cycle (Kingboard's 7th round this year; NanYa +20–25% from 9/1), but the mirror-image risk of pass-through exists: if demand weakens at the margin while raw materials keep rising, the scissors gap reverses — the limit-down on 8/19 partly reflected this concern.
(3) Upstream positioning is the real bottleneck for high-end capacity. Low-Dk glass fabric global demand in 2026 is ~18.5 million meters vs effective capacity of ~10 million meters (a gap of ~46%; leading players' inventories just over a week); T-Glass is close to a Nittobo monopoly with a ~2-year expansion cycle, and most new capacity only ramps in 2027 — CCL makers controlling upstream quotas earn a supply-security premium, so the pace of 2027 upstream capacity release is a leading indicator of the tail end of this price-hike cycle. Shengyi does not make upstream materials and buys everything externally, hedging via scale-based allocation lock-ins, long-term contracts, and ties to affiliates (Lianrui / Xingshun / Tianqi).
Current market data (2026-09-01 close): share price RMB 144.42, market cap RMB 350.796bn. PE(TTM) 67.5x (TTM attributable profit RMB 5.195bn) — at the ~95–98th percentile of its own 5-year history, but the SW PCB sector median is ~70.4x and the stock sits at ~45th percentile within the sector; the two reference frames point in opposite directions; percentiles are for reference only. PB 19.0x (97th percentile, supported by 35.5% annualized 2026H1 ROE); PE (2026E consensus) 51.5x, PE (2027E consensus) 33.0x; EV/Sales (TTM) 10.1x. Average daily turnover ~RMB 10.2bn (~2.9% of market cap) — excellent liquidity. Earnings are in a ramp-up phase and historical PE percentiles are mechanically elevated; the primary valuation anchor uses the growth framework (forward PE/PEG/ramp modeling), with percentiles only as a downside floor reference — the conclusion is sensitive to the percentile frame (own-history vs sector cross-section), and both are presented side by side.
Peer comparison (multiples as of 2026-09-01):
| Company | PE(TTM) | 2026E forward PE | PEG (single-year basis) | Latest growth | Gross margin | Key difference vs Shengyi |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shengyi Technology | 67.5x | 51.5x | 0.51–0.59 (0.75–1.06 on CAGR basis) | H1 attributable +130% | 29.2% (main business) | Mainland leader, global No.2 / fast follower in high-speed |
| EMC (2383.TW) | 88.2x | ~59x | ~0.45 | Q2 revenue +110% | 33.9% (Q2) | High-speed No.1 (38.6% high-speed share), roughly one generation ahead technically |
| WUS Printed Circuit (002463) | 45.9x | ~35.5x | ~0.50 | H1 attributable +73.7% | — (downstream AI PCB) | Proven volume ramp on the same chain; this report's exit-multiple anchor |
| Kingboard Laminates (1888.HK) | 31.4x | ~26x | Distorted; not used as anchor | H1 attributable +209% | 30.7% | Scale No.1, lower-end mix, HK-listed discount |
| Nanya New Material (688519) | 111.0x | — | Distorted (low base) | H1 attributable +428.8% | 11.9% (2025) | Mainland challenger, profitability normalizing |
Market-implied expectations: The current market cap ≈ 2027E consensus net profit of RMB 10.63bn × 33x — i.e., the market has fully priced the sell-side consensus path (2026 +102% / 2027 +56%), implying a 2026–2028 net profit CAGR of 31–44%. Two-way test: Support — AI CCL market growing $2.2bn → $3.4bn (+54.5%); multilayer boards of 18+ layers with 2026 output value +72.8% (Prismark); EMC's monthly revenue accelerating at +115%/+121%/+129% YoY for May/June/July; Shengyi at full utilization with orders booked through year-end; 2026H1 achieved 48.3% of the consensus full-year forecast — right on the line. Front-running — this CAGR requires Shengyi (a fast follower with ~6–7% high-speed share, roughly one generation behind EMC) to replicate EMC's 2024–2026 delivery trajectory, an aggressive rather than conservative assumption; and consensus does not isolate the H2 reversibility of convertible-bond mark-to-market gains. In one sentence: the current price requires Shengyi to fully deliver M9 ramp and price pass-through by 2027, and to still be priced as a growth stock in 2028 — a demanding ask, but not yet off the industry trajectory.
Three-tier value (EPV): Asset value (net-asset floor) ~RMB 7.62/share; EPV with zero growth (normalized EPS RMB 2.55 = 2026 non-GAAP annualized midpoint RMB 6.2bn ÷ 2.429bn shares, WACC 10%, net debt -RMB 0.71/share) ≈ RMB 24.8/share; growth option = current price − EPV ≈ RMB 119.6, 82.8% of the current price. This structure is the normal form for a stock that has hit a structural inflection point (the zero-growth floor only prices extreme downside) and does not constitute evidence of overvaluation; the real pricing judgment belongs to the scenario table.
Three scenarios and odds (6–12 months):
| Scenario | Probability | Fair range | vs current price | Core assumptions and swing factors |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bear | 25% | RMB 50–75 | -48% to -65% (midpoint -57%) | 2027E attributable falls to RMB 5.5–6.5bn (-45% vs consensus: capex-guidance growth <15% + high-end ASP annual declines >10% + competition normalization in standard boards) × cyclical multiple 22–28x; consistent with the lowest published target price in coverage (RMB 74, unnamed) and J.P. Morgan's capex scenario |
| Base | 50% | RMB 110–145 | -24% to +0.4% | 2027E attributable RMB 9.5–11bn (our midpoint RMB 10bn, 6% below consensus) × exit 28–32x (anchor: WUS 2026E 35.5x forward convergence band + sector comparison, not the company's current multiple; EMC 2027E ~40x as the technical-premium upper bound) |
| Bull | 25% | RMB 160–205 | +11% to +42% (midpoint +26%) | 2028E attributable RMB 14–16bn × 32–36x, discounted 1.5 years at 10%; requires M10/PTFE first-source validation + Thailand at full capacity + Songshan Lake Phase I production (comparators: Citi target RMB 195, Goldman Sachs RMB 217.6 — Goldman exceeds this range's upper bound, with a more aggressive 2028 earnings path) |
House earnings forecast (reconciliation anchor): 2026E revenue RMB 40.5–43bn (+42% to +51%), attributable profit RMB 6.8–7.4bn (midpoint RMB 7.1bn, implying H2 of RMB 3.81bn, +16% QoQ — M9 price hike of 25% implemented + industry-wide pass-through from 9/1 + Thailand trial production in Q4; assuming no additional convertible-bond mark-to-market gains in H2); 2027E revenue RMB 51–56bn, attributable profit RMB 9–11bn (midpoint RMB 10bn, ASP assumptions 5–10pct more conservative than sell-side). Comparators: consensus RMB 6.81/10.63bn; Huachuang RMB 8.501/17.034bn (most aggressive); the company gives no numerical guidance. Our midpoint is ~4% above consensus for 2026 and ~6% below for 2027 — the divergence centers on 2027 ASP stickiness.
Conclusion: Fair (fair, leaning full). Target price range RMB 110–145 (base-case fair value); margin of safety -24% (base-case lower bound below current price). Quality and price assessed separately: quality is excellent (continuously rising gross margin, ROIC above WACC, generous dividends, global No.2 positioning); price is full (fully reflecting consensus, PB at 97th percentile, left-skewed odds). Operational implication: the current price is not a standalone entry point; re-evaluate on a pullback to RMB 110–125 (lower half of the base range), or upon Q3 report validation of quantified M9 disclosure plus cloud vendors' 2027 capex guidance remaining at high growth.
Market Size: The global rigid CCL (including prepreg) market was USD 15.013 billion in 2024 (+17.9%, volume 749.1 million square meters) → approximately USD 18.7 billion in 2025 (+24.4%, Prismark June 2026 update); Mainland China accounts for 74.8% of global sales value and 81.0% of volume. Dramatic structural shift: special resin-based and specialty CCL reached USD 5.665 billion in 2024 sales (+35.3%), a 37.7% share, surpassing standard FR-4 (29%) to become the largest category. High-end sub-market: AI copper clad laminate approximately USD 1.1 billion in 2024 → USD 2.2 billion in 2025 (+100%) → 2026E USD 3.4 billion (+54.5%, Prismark); Prismark's long-term forecast puts global rigid CCL at USD 23.96 billion in 2031, implying a CAGR of only about 4.2% off the actual 2025 base—i.e., the 2026-2027 high growth embedded in sell-side consensus has partially front-run the long-term center; sustainability depends on generational replacement of high-speed boards, not overall industry expansion. Downstream end-market structure (Prismark 2024): mobile phones/consumer electronics ~44%, communications equipment ~28%, automotive electronics ~13%—AI servers/switches are currently the only strong demand driver.
Quantified Demand Inflection Chain (structural, not organic industry growth): Demand drivers = AI server shipments 2026E over 2 million units (+28.3%, TrendForce) + switch upgrades from 800G to 1.6T (1.6T optical module 2026E shipments revised up to 45-50 million units); unit consumption and value = AI server PCB value is 3-5x that of traditional servers, average layer count from 18 layers in 2023 to 32 layers in 2025 (+78%), material grades M6→M8→M9 with unit prices jumping severalfold per grade; penetration = AI share of PCB demand 15% (2025) → 25%+ (2026), multilayer boards above 18 layers posting +72.8% output value in 2026; company share = Shengyi's M8 has entered volume production in leading overseas compute supply chains, and M9 reportedly passed core NVIDIA validation per media reports (the only one in mainland China, pending company confirmation), with high-speed niche share at roughly 6-7% (third-party citations, to be verified). Of the four links in the chain, the first three have hard data; the company share link is the weakest link—which is precisely the value of the Q3 report's high-speed revenue disclosure.
Industry Chain and Value Distribution: Copper foil (standard grades fully competitive, tracking copper prices; HVLP3/4 low-profile copper foil in short supply) → electronic-grade glass fabric (low-Dk fabric/quartz fabric in short supply through 2027, Nittobo nearly sole supplier) → resin (PPO/hydrocarbon systems reliant on a few Japanese and US suppliers plus Shengyi's in-house formulations) → CCL (this link, the biggest beneficiary of value re-rating) → PCB (Shennan, WUS, Avary, SYES, etc.) → end markets. Bargaining dynamics: CCL CR5 at roughly 55% (2021, Prismark) far exceeds downstream PCB (CR5 ~22%), giving strong pricing power downstream; neutral-to-weak versus upstream—during shortages of specialty glass fabric/HVLP copper foil, upstream captures part of the price-hike profits. CCL accounts for about 27.3% of PCB raw material costs. Gross margin is accelerating its concentration at both ends—high-end CCL and AI PCB: EMC's gross margin hit 33.9%, a fresh quarterly high, versus 9% for commodity-grade Champion (华正).
Supply/Demand and Competitive Landscape: Oligopoly in high-end high-speed boards (EMC 38.6% first in high-speed terms, Panasonic's Megtron as the grading benchmark, followed by Shengyi/ITEQ/Doosan); currently selling everything produced, lead times up 2-3x, no price war; commodity FR-4 capacity is ample with normalized price wars. Entry barriers: ultra-low-loss resin formulations + interfacial processes (re-conquered every generation), 2-3 years of end-customer qualification (extremely sticky once qualified), heavy capital investment per line (RMB 5.2 billion for Songshan Lake), and locked-in quotas for upstream low-Dk fabric/HVLP copper foil. Landmark event reshaping the landscape: in July 2026, Prismark's ranking by 2025 revenue put EMC ahead of Kingboard and Shengyi as the world's No.1 in overall CCL—the industry's value center of gravity is shifting from "scale + cost" to "high-end high-speed mix + qualification positioning," which is both pressure for Shengyi (overtaken in overall rank) and opportunity (large room for high-end substitution). Substitution threats: no material substitution in the medium term; beyond a 3-year horizon, track CPO (co-packaged optics, reducing some copper interconnect) and glass substrate/IC substrate routes—the glass substrate narrative twice triggered sector volatility in 2026H2, while the PCB industry consensus is that implementation "still needs time."
Cyclicality and Regulation: CCL is a classic cyclical industry (USD 18.8 billion in 2021 → USD 12.7 billion in 2023 → USD 18.7 billion in 2025, essentially recovering the prior high); the current upcycle is driven by AI structural demand rather than a broad recovery, and cyclical risk rises after 2027-2028 capacity expansions come online. Leading indicators: CCL lead times and frequency of price-hike announcements, low-Dk glass fabric quotes (monthly), EMC monthly revenue and earnings calls, copper futures term structure (SHFE backwardation = tight spot), NVIDIA platform transition cadence. Regulation and policy: US AI chip controls on China—"loosening on the surface, tightening underneath"—force volume growth in the domestic compute chain (Shengyi is a core substrate supplier for domestic AI clusters, a direct beneficiary); the "15th Five-Year Plan" prioritizes AI infrastructure and localization of high-end electronic materials; supply-chain regionalization drives capacity going overseas (the Thailand base starting production in September is precisely a hedge); risk points are tariff back-and-forth (the 2025 90-day exemption period once caused customer order pull-ins that front-ran order momentum) and a US-China tech détente scenario.
Company Industry Position: One of two global rigid CCL duopolists (13.2% in 2025, 13 consecutive years as global No.2, per company annual report citation), but by 2025 revenue has been overtaken by EMC—positioned as "No.2 overall, high-end chaser, absolute leader of the mainland China camp." Share trends: overall share stable, high-speed share trending up (M6/M7 volume shipments → M8 bulk entry into leading overseas chains → M9 reportedly qualified, the only one in mainland China); moat sources = scale + full product range + in-house resin formulations + qualification stickiness + vertical synergy with SYES. Data-caveat note: multiple incompatible definitions of market position coexist—the company's annual report cites Prismark putting it No.2 globally in rigid CCL sales value (13.2%); Prismark's July 2026 ranking by 2025 revenue puts EMC on top (Shengyi dropping to No.2/No.3 overall); high-speed niche: EMC 38.6% (company citation) vs. special resin basis 22.1% (Nan Ya's private placement prospectus) vs. TPCA all-basis EMC 18.9%—the three bases are not interchangeable, and this report cites each in its original basis with notes where used.
Overall verdict: Neutral (Watch), confidence 0.60, time horizon 6-12 months. Shengyi Technology's AI inflection narrative has been validated on the financial side (C1/C2); quality and positioning are genuine. But the price of RMB 144.42 has fully priced in consensus, with a safety margin of -24% and left-skewed odds (C3), while the timing-overlap risk of 2027 supply and capex cannot be ignored (C4). Strategy: holders may continue holding but with strict discipline (reassess if the stock breaks RMB 110 or Q3 gross margin weakens sequentially); non-holders are advised not to chase at current levels—wait for a pullback into the lower half of the base range or for dual validation of quantified M9 disclosure plus capex guidance before reassessing. This judgment represents a genuine divergence from the sell-side distribution (median target price RMB 195): we believe the market is over-weighting reported M9 information and is overly optimistic about 2027 ASP stickiness; conversely, if the Q3 report quantitatively discloses high-speed revenue and cloud providers' 2027 capex guidance maintains 30%+ growth, we will upgrade our base case—views follow evidence, not the other way around.
Key Risks: ① AI capex deceleration in 2027 being confirmed (JPMorgan scenario) → double hit of valuation + earnings; ② M9 qualification/primary-supplier rumors debunked (company has never confirmed) → collapse of the expectation pivot; ③ 2027 industry capacity wave landing as demand growth fades → convergence of the high-end premium; ④ lag in pass-through of raw material costs + negative scissors gap of weakening demand; ⑤ customer concentration (single customer 13.8%) and shareholding signals (Guangxin Group's cumulative reduction of about 1%, director's selling window expiring 9/22); ⑥ persistent small drag from real estate inventory impairments and external guarantees (RMB 674 million).
Monitoring Checklist (summary; full conditions in the watch list): Q3 report (Q3 net profit attributable ≥ RMB 2.6 billion? CCL gross margin holds 30%?); EMC monthly revenue (AI demand proxy, alert on two consecutive months of sequential decline); cloud providers' 2027 capex guidance (growth <15% triggers bear-case review); Thailand ramp-up; M10 solution finalized (end of 2026); stock at RMB 110 (reassessment signal) / RMB 145 (base-case repair complete).